• Home
  • |
  • About Us
  • |
  • Contact Us
  • |
  • Login
  • |

TRADERS CUP COMMITTEE 2017: L-R: Sir Bebeto Udennaka, Faith Okwona DSS, Emma Okala MON, Fr Coach Obinna Dike, Joseph Umudu DOS. Back R-L: Coach Paul Obiakor, Coach Basil Ulogu and Damian Egwuonwu.

A catholic priest Rev Fr Coach Obinna Dike, alongside eleven others were last Tuesday March 28, 2017,  inaugurated as members of Traders Cup Competition 2017 by Anambra State Sports Commissioner Barr Uju Nwogu in her office in Awka.
Addressing the committee made up of seasoned football personnel and administrators during the inauguration, the Commissioner urged them to ensure the traders in Anambra had a swell and healthy competition. She said the Obiano-led government really looked in to appoint responsible individuals into the committee and called on the members to justify the trust reposed in them by Anambra State.
Responding, the Chairman of the committee, Rev Fr Coach Obinna Dike, thanked the Commissioner for Youth Enterpreneurship and Sports Development Anambra State, Barr Uju Nwogu for really seeking men and women of integrity for this task. Fr Dike who is also the Chairman of Anambra Independent Football League (AIFL), assured the Commissioner, the traders and all Anambrarians that the committee would facilitate a remarkable competition.
Speaking to FIDES after the inauguration, Fr Coach Dike who is the first ever Catholic Priest Professional football coach in Nigeria, as well as the Director DOSAD Sports, said that the state government was wise in recognizing that traders are major stakeholders in Anambra development plan. He praised the smartness of Governor Willie Obiano in engaging traders on what they cherish which is sports. Coach Dike lauded Commissioner Uju Nwogu for being a dependable administrator and a remarkable team player. Fr Dike also chipped in words of praise to Amalgamated Traders boss in Anambra State, Chief Okwudili Ezenwankwo for rallying the traders in the state to key into this sporting exercise.
The other members of the 2017 Traders Cup Committee include: Mr Emma Okala MON (Senior Special Adviser to the Gov on sports, Technical adviser to the Committee), Umudu Joseph (Director of Sports Anambra State, Vice Chairman), Anthony Nrialike (Sports Officer, Secretary), Faith Okwonna (Director of Sports Services, member), Tony Bebeto Udennaka (Chairman Anambra Football Referees Council and Board member Anambra State Football Association, member), Basil Ulogu ( State Football Coach, member) and Paul Obiakor (Retired State Football Coach, member). Others are; Vincent Ifeme (Chairman of Chairmen of various markets in Anambra, member), Gabriel Chinueze (Traders representative 2, member) and Damian Egwuonwu (Chairman SWAN Anambra and seasoned sports media personnel, member).
The Committee has five months to roost the competition.

Leave a comment