• Home
  • |
  • About Us
  • |
  • Contact Us
  • |
  • Login
  • |

Chaplain, Neni Deanery Cultural Commission,  Rev Fr Paulinus Okonkwo making his remarks. Sitting L-R: Rev Fr Leo Mmadubuike, Education Secretary, Adazi Region; Rev Fr Charles Umeoji, Dean, Neni Deanery; Chief Sir & Lady George Ibekendu (Ezeani Ebekuedike), chairman of the occasion and Sir Chijioke Ibeanu, chairman, Neni Deanery Cultural Commission.

St John's Catholic Parish, Neni has been adjudged the winner of the Neni Deanery Iso Ebe Cultural Competition held at the parish on April 8, 2017. Saint John's Parish that won with 53% will represent the deanery in the mega competition fixed for April 29, 2017 at St Patrick's Catholic Cathedral, Awka.

In the competition which was on the proper formation of young girls, St James' Parish, Neni won the 2nd position with 44%, Immaculate Heart of Mary Parish, Neni got the 3rd position with 32% while St Joseph's Parish, Neni clinched the 4th position with 31%. St Mary's Parish, Neni got the 5th position with 25% while Sacred Heart Parish, Adazi-Ani and St Michael's Parish, Neni were left behind with 22% and 19% for the 6th and 7th positions respectively.

Other seven parishes of the deanery- St Peter's Parish, Adazi-Ani, St Theresa's Parish, Ichida, St Rita's Parish, Ichida, St Augustine's Parish Ichida, All Saints Parish Adazi-Ani, St Dominic's Parish, Adazi-Enu and St Patrick's Parish, Adazi-Enu that did not participate in the competition are liable to fines.
The event which had Chief Sir & Lady George Ibekendu (Ezeani Ebekuodike) was also graced by the chairman of Awka Diocesan Cultural Commission, Professor Oby Okonkwor and some ADCC members as well as other dignitaries among whom is the Chief Sir Augustine Ibeme, CEO of Citizen Paint & Chemical Ind. Ltd, who also donated in support of the deanery programme.

 L-R: Professor Oby Okonkwor, Chairman, Awka Diocesan Cultural Commission (ADCC); Rev Fr Paulinus Okonkwo, Chaplain, Neni Deanery Cultural Commission; HRH Igwe Damian Ezeani, Ezeani Ugonabo of Neni; Hon Sir Chijioke Ibeanu, KSJI, Chairman, Neni Deanery Cultural Commission; Rev Fr Patrick Amobi Chukwuma, parish priest, St James' Parish, Neni and Rev Fr Columba Okany, parish priest, Immaculate Heart Parish, Neni at the event.

Leave a comment