• Home
  • |
  • About Us
  • |
  • Contact Us
  • |
  • Login
  • |

Igbo Language Film Awards Jury, L-R: Kelly Ihetu; Prof. Tracie Utoh-Ezeajugh; Prof. Pita Ejiofor; Nze Uche Nworah and Barister Uju Aroh.

Professor Pita Ejiofor, founder of Otu Suwakwa Igbo Initiative, last Tuesday inaugurated a four-man jury to judge Igbo Language films submitted for the 2017 Igbo Language Film Awards.
The Jury members included Nze Uche Nworah, Managing Director and CEO of Anambra Broadcasting Service; Prof. Tracy Utoh-Ezeajugh, Dean, Faculty of Arts, Nnamdi Azikiwe University; Barrister Uju Aroh of National Film and Video Censors Board and Kelly Ihetu of Silverbird Group.
While inaugurating the Jury, Prof. Ejiofor said that the Igbo Language Film Awards was an initiative of the Otu Suwakwa Igbo and was part of their efforts to promote the Igbo Language and Igbo cultural identity. He charged the jury to apply their professional experiences and judgement in their duty while being guided by the award criteria.
In his response, a member of the panel, Nze Uche Nworah, thanked Otu Suwakwa Igbo for finding the jury worthy to serve and assured that they would do their best to select the best Igbo Language film from the shortlisted 11 entries.
He also called on well-meaning Ndigbo to endow prizes in future editions of the Igbo Language Film Awards.
The jury has a month to complete their assignment. Igbo Language films submitted for the award will be judged based on originality of script, use of Igbo language, visual and audio quality, role interpretations, costume and make-up, camera work, editing and adherence to guidelines.
The 2017 awards is endowed by Godwin Ezeemo. The winner will receive a plaque and one hundred thousand naira prize money.

Leave a comment